Fun Fact

Fall colors are best when late summer is dry and autumn has bright sunny days and cool nights below 40 degrees F.

Follow @WDMLibrary

  • RT : The City Council will conduct a public hearing on the proposed FY City property tax levy on Feb. 3, 2020, at 5:30 p…
  • Our Puzzletime adult puzzle group just finished this massive puzzle - after 7 meetings! They meet monthly on the 3…

Karl, Retired Pastor

The West Des Moines Library has empowered retirement days for me in two ways. One, I am able to read extensively in the newspaper and magazine sections. Two, I am able to borrow books to read rather than to purchase and keep in my now limited home library. An added feature is borrowing audiobooks to savor while I drive to visit family in other states. 

 

Databases – Food

Title Description Click to Use

AtoZ World Food

 

world food

AtoZ World Food contains traditional recipes AND covers food culture for 174 countries of the world in six categories: National Cuisine, Regional Cuisine, Daily Meals, Dining Etiquette, Special Occasion Foods, and Food Trivia.

Learn about a culture AND get great new recipes!

• 174 Countries • 9,000+ Food Photos • 1,700+ Food Quotes
• 6,000+ Recipes • 540+ Ingredient Articles • 750+ World Beer Reviews
• 850+ Food Culture Articles • 800+ Food Glossary Terms • Personal Recipe Book

In-library

From Home

Culinary Arts Collection

ppca164w

Love Food?

Searchable collection on eating, cooking, nutrition, food budgeting, diets and more.

In-library

From Home

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

 

Detailed “how-to” and ideas for virtually every hobby enthusiast.

Full text from leading hobby and craft magazines, over 700 “how to” videos, 3000+ recipes, even game cheats!

In-library

From Home

Return to All Databases