Fun Fact

"Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries." ~Anne Herbert

Follow @WDMLibrary

Karl, Retired Pastor

The West Des Moines Library has empowered retirement days for me in two ways. One, I am able to read extensively in the newspaper and magazine sections. Two, I am able to borrow books to read rather than to purchase and keep in my now limited home library. An added feature is borrowing audiobooks to savor while I drive to visit family in other states. 

 

Databases – Health

Title Description Click to Use

Consumer Health Complete

Consumer Health Complete™ is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This database provides content covering key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

Includes: Full text for more than 570 journals and magazines; full-text, evidence-based health reports; medical images and diagrams; full-text consumer health publications from the NIH, CDC and more; health reference books and encyclopedias; Animations with audio narration.

In-library

From Home

Health and Wellness Resource Center

consumer health logo

Created for the health consumer, articles, tips, videos and more on diseases, healthy lifestyle, medications and more. In-library

From Home

Health Reference Center Academic

hrca164w

Created for the health professional, access to health and medicine journal articles and reference book content. In-library

From Home

LearnItLive

LearnItLive from RBDigital:  Live and on-demand classes, quick tip videos, and virtual reality wellness.

Find and interact with top authors, experts, and teachers in live online and on-demand classes. Discover hundreds of expert-led programs covering topics on cooking, nutrition, child care, financial wellness, fitness, yoga, mindfulness, stress reduction, and much more!

  • Expert-led programs: Connect with expert professors, authors, speakers and teachers from around the world.
  • Extensive catalog: Hundreds of on-demand programs and live classes each month.
  • Interactive sessions: Live video sessions where you meet in real time from your computer or mobile device.
  • Recordings: All sessions recorded for you to go back and re-watch.

FREE account (with WDM Library card) required to access videos.

In-Library

From Home

Nursing & Allied Health Collection

ppnu164w

Periodicals and reference book content supporting health professionals. In-library

From Home

Return to All Databases