Fun Fact

"Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries." ~Anne Herbert

Follow @WDMLibrary

Karl, Retired Pastor

The West Des Moines Library has empowered retirement days for me in two ways. One, I am able to read extensively in the newspaper and magazine sections. Two, I am able to borrow books to read rather than to purchase and keep in my now limited home library. An added feature is borrowing audiobooks to savor while I drive to visit family in other states. 

 

Databases – Home, Hobbies and Repair

Title Description Click to Use

AtoZ World Food

 

 

AtoZ World Food contains traditional recipes AND covers food culture for 174 countries of the world in six categories: National Cuisine, Regional Cuisine, Daily Meals, Dining Etiquette, Special Occasion Foods, and Food Trivia.

Learn about a culture AND get great new recipes!

• 174 Countries • 9,000+ Food Photos • 1,700+ Food Quotes
• 6,000+ Recipes • 540+ Ingredient Articles • 750+ World Beer Reviews
• 850+ Food Culture Articles • 800+ Food Glossary Terms • Personal Recipe Book

In-library

From Home

Chilton’s Auto Repair

 

Searchable, includes repair procedures, wiring diagrams, maintenance intervals, general troubleshooting and more for most models, both domestic and imports. Most information can be easily printed out for use in the garage. In-library

From Home

Culinary Arts Collection

ppca164w

Love Food?

Searchable collection on eating, cooking, nutrition, food budgeting, diets and more.

In-library

From Home

Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Collection

ppgl164w

 

Love to Garden?

Searchable articles on gardening, landscaping, horticulture science and more.

In-library
From Home

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

 

Got Hobbies? 

Detailed “how-to” and ideas for virtually every hobby enthusiast.

Full text from leading hobby and craft magazines, over 700 “how to” videos, 3000+ recipes, even game cheats!

In-library

From Home

Home Improvement Center

pphi164w

Over 5 million home improvement articles to support both the hobbyist and the professional. In-library
From Home

Home Improvement Reference Center

 

Detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of home improvement and repair projects.

In-library

From Home

Pop Culture Collection

ppop164w

 

Millions of articles on popular culture topics like social media, music, video games and more.

In-library
From Home

Return to All Databases