Fun Fact

Fall colors are best when late summer is dry and autumn has bright sunny days and cool nights below 40 degrees F.

Follow @WDMLibrary

  • The Library (and City offices) will be Closed on Monday, Jan 20th, in honor of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s bi…
  • The Library WILL open as usual today, Saturday 1/18 at 9am. Watch this space in case weather worsens. If we close e…

Karl, Retired Pastor

The West Des Moines Library has empowered retirement days for me in two ways. One, I am able to read extensively in the newspaper and magazine sections. Two, I am able to borrow books to read rather than to purchase and keep in my now limited home library. An added feature is borrowing audiobooks to savor while I drive to visit family in other states. 

 

Databases – Investing and Business

Title Description Click to Use

Morningstar Investment Research Center

morningstar_logo_bw

The Morningstar Investment Research Center is an online investment database with information on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds.

It provides independent analysis, industry information, stock charts, portfolio building tools, and web-based educational tutorials.

In-library

From Home

Value Line Research Center

The Value Line Research Center includes on-line access to Value Line’s leading research publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.

NOTE 12/16/19:  The From Home link should be working.  Please contact us if you have issues. Thank you for your patience!  

In-library

From Home

Weiss Financial Ratings Series Online

Weiss Ratings includes the following databases:

Financial Strength Ratings: Banking & Insurance
Financial Strength Ratings: Stocks & Mutual Funds
Customized Medigap Buyer’s Guide & Premium Calculator.
Great resources for the beginning or advanced investor!

In-library

From Home

Small Business

Reference Center

Information on relevant topics from writing a business plan, starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business.

Business videos provide interviews, ‘lessons learned’ features, lectures and ‘how to’ videos help foster success.

State-specific resources provide demographic data and other local information.

In-library

From Home

Legal Information

Reference Center

Legal Information Reference Center is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds.

It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.

In-library

From Home

ReferenceUSA

 

Business and residential information for market research and contact lists. Data on 45 million businesses and 271 million consumers.

Note:  If the From Home link does not work, please email the library. Our address is at the bottom of the page.

In-library

From Home

Return to All Databases